Songs Of Innocence And Experience 1965 - 1995 by Marianne Faithfull - 2CD - shop now at uDiscover store

Marianne Faithfull Songs Of Innocence And Experience 1965 - 1995

Product Type: 2CD
Our price: 20,99
incl. taxes (plus applicable shipping costs)

First Marianne Faithfull compilation since 2001’s ‘An Introduction to…’ and the first to contain rare and unreleased material since the Island Anthology ‘A Perfect Stranger’ in 1998. Containing 4 previously unreleased recordings including 1 completely unheard song. In addition to the unreleased material, 22 of the 29 tracks on the LP are making their first appearance on vinyl or first appearance since their original release, and on the 2xCD set, 9 recordings are making their cd/digital debut.

This compilation offers a definitive overview of the first 30 years of Marianne’s recording career on the Decca and Island labels, and features versions of all of her notable singles including the original issue of her final Decca 7” ‘Something Better’ / ‘Sister Morphine’ featuring alternate takes unavailable since 1969: It acts both as a primer to the uninitiated and a rarities collection for those already converted. The title Songs of Innocence and Experience acknowledges the change in vocal style between Marianne’s orchestral folk-pop of her 60’s career with her high pure voice and her new wave punk influenced comeback at the end of the 70’s with Broken English featuring her trademark fractured vocals.

The front cover features a hand drawn pencil image by Lithuanian artist Aiste Stancikaite, commissioned exclusively this for the project, and the packaging contains many rare and unseen images.


Disc 1

  1. Come And Stay With Me
  2. What Have They Done To The Rain?
  3. Once I Had A Sweetheart
  4. Come My Way [version 2]
  5. Go Away From My World
  6. This Little Bird
  7. Nuit D’ été [Summer Nights French Version] *First time on CD
  8. Yesterday (live on the BBC)
  9. Cockleshells (live on the BBC)
  10. Green Are Your Eyes
  11. Sally Free And Easy
  12. Sunny Goodge Street [alternate take] *Previously unreleased recording
  13. The First Time (Ever I Saw Your Face) [Faithfull Forever version] *First time on CD
  14. With You In Mind
  15. Hang On To A Dream
  16. Young Girl Blues
  17. Hier Ou Demain (from the film Anna) *First time on CD
  18. Is This What I Get For Loving You?
  19. Don’t Make Promises
  20. Something Better (Original 7” version) *First time on CD
  21. Sister Morphine (Original 7” version) *First time on CD
  22. It’s All Over Now Baby Blue
  23. Chords of Fame
  24. The Ballad Of Lucy Jordan [original mix]
  25. What’s The Hurry [original mix]

Disc 2

  1. Broken English [7” remix version]
  2. Why D’ya Do It ? [12” version]
  3. Over Here (No Time For Justice) *First time on CD
  4. Intrigue [7” version] *First time on CD
  5. Truth Bitter Truth [7” version] *First time on CD
  6. Falling From Grace
  7. Running For Our Lives [7” Version) *First time on CD
  8. She’s Got A Problem
  9. I’m In Love Again *Previously unreleased
  10. Strange Weather
  11. As Tears Go By [re-recorded version]
  12. A Stranger On Earth
  13. The Calm Before the Storm *Previously unreleased
  14. When I Find My Life (Live)
  15. Brain Drain (Live) *Previously unreleased recording
  16. The Boulevard Of Broken Dreams (Live) *Previously unreleased recording
  17. Times Square (Live)
  18. Bored by Dreams
  19. The Stars Line Up