Zum Inhalt springen
Too-Rye-Ay, As It Should Have Sounded von Kevin Rowland & Dexys Midnight Runners - 3CD jetzt im uDiscover Store
Too-Rye-Ay, As It Should Have Sounded von Kevin Rowland & Dexys Midnight Runners - 3CD jetzt im uDiscover Store

Kevin Rowland & Dexys Midnight Runners Too-Rye-Ay, As It Should Have Sounded

Art: 3CD
Preis: 37,99
inkl. MwSt (ggf zzgl. Versandkosten)

To tie in with the 40th anniversary of the multi-platinum selling album, we present ‘Too-Rye-Ay, as it should have sounded’.

Kevin Rowland was never happy with the final mix of the album, despite its huge commercial success. So with Helen O’Hara, and Pete Schwier they decided to mix it again. In recent interviews Kevin has stated…

“The songs and performances are great, but I always felt the mixes could be better. It’s my most successful album, but it doesn’t sound as good as the others”

“This is the director’s cut and it’s how it should have sounded…”

The album’s cover has also been re-modelled, using the preferred image from the Come On Eileen single sleeve.

All the material on the remix is from the original recordings, nothing new has been added. Some of the arrangements were changed, for example: on Plan B we moved the brass to come in earlier and the ‘girl’ talking was replaced with Kevin’s, which he recorded at the time.

On Liars A to E we brought the backing vocals down an octave in places, as Kevin felt they were too high and on Until I Believe In My Soul, we replaced the ‘penny whistle’ on the intro with Jim’s trombone, also recorded at the time.

The remix itself was quite straightforward – trying to bring as much emotion as possible to the songs, and because technology has advanced so much a lot of pops, noises and artefacts that were on the original multi-tracks we were able to clean up.

The brief was to create an alternative mix, keeping the spirit of the original recordings and shed new light on some of these great songs.

I hope this has been achieved…

Producer – Pete Schwier, January 2022


CD1 (The 1982 album – ‘as it should have sounded’)

  1. The Celtic Soul Brothers
  2. Let's Make This Precious
  3. All In All (This One Last Wild Waltz)
  4. Jackie Wilson Said (I'm In Heaven When You Smile)
  5. Old
  6. Plan B
  7. I'll Show You
  8. Liars A To E
  9. Until I Believe In My Soul
  10. Come On Eileen

CD2 (Bonus tracks - B-Sides / Out-Takes)

  1. Show Me (Single A-side – 1981)
  2. Soon (B-side of Show Me single - 1981)
  3. ...And Yes We Must Remain The Wildhearted Outsiders (B-side of Liars A to E single - 1981)
  4. Love Part 2 (B-side of The Celtic Soul Brothers single - 1982)
  5. Let's Make This Precious (‘Original Version’ – from Too-Rye-Ay (2CD deluxe))
  6. Come On Eileen (Single Edit - 1982)
  7. Dubious (B-side of Come On Eileen single - 1982)
  8. T.S.O.P. (B-side of Jackie Wilson Said.. 12” single - 1982)
  9. Let's Get This Straight From The Start (Non-album single - 1982)
  10. Reminisce (Part 1)(B-side of The Celtic Soul Brothers 12" single - 1983)
  11. Let's Make This Precious (Out-Take - Previously Unreleased)
  12. ‘Smoke Your Own’ (AKA Liars A To E, 1981) (Out-Take - Previously Unreleased)
  13. Until I Believe In My Soul (Out-Take - Previously Unreleased)

CD3 (Live at the Shaftesbury Theatre – October 1982)

  1. Old
  2. Geno
  3. Let's Get This Straight From the Start
  4. All in All (This One Last Wild Waltz)
  5. Tell Me When My Light Turns Green
  6. Plan B
  7. Let's Make This Precious
  8. I Couldn't Help If I Tried
  9. Until I Believe in My Soul
  10. Jackie Wilson Said (I'm in Heaven When You Smile)
  11. Respect
  12. There, There, My Dear
  13. Come on Eileen
  14. Seven Days Too Long
  15. The Celtic Soul Brothers
  16. I'm Just Looking