Catch Bull At Four by Yusuf / Cat Stevens - CD - shop now at uDiscover store
Catch Bull At Four by Yusuf / Cat Stevens - CD - shop now at uDiscover store

Yusuf / Cat Stevens Catch Bull At Four

Product Type: CD
Our price: 21,99
incl. taxes (plus applicable shipping costs)

Cat Stevens’ 1972 album, Catch Bull At Four, was the singer’s fourth LP on Island Records. Released on 27th September 1972, it came hot on the heels of his three iconic records, Mona Bone JakonTea for the Tillerman, and Teaser and the Firecat.

With Paul Samwell-Smith taking the production reins once again, Catch Bull At Four saw Stevens reunited with guitarist Alun Davies, who featured on all his previous Island recordings, and drummer Gerry Conway, who appeared on Teaser and the Firecat. This core group was joined by Alan James on bass, and Jean Roussel on keyboards, with the record also featuring a guest appearance by Linda Lewis on “Angelsea”.

Catch Bull At Four spent three weeks at Number 1 in the Billboard Top 200 album chart, and as such was Cat Stevens’ most successful chart album and went on to be certified for Platinum sales in the US. The album also reached Number 1 in Canada, Number 2 in the UK and the Netherlands, and Number 4 in France.

To celebrate its 50th Anniversary, Catch Bull At Four has been digitally remastered at 24bit/96kHz from the original Island stereo production masters, with its artwork completely rebuilt from the original files. Presented on 180g gatefold vinyl LP for the very first time since its original release, the album is also available on CD for the first time since its reissue in 2000, in a CD digisleeve with a new 16 page booklet featuring photos, press clippings and lyrics.

On its original release in 1972, Cat Stevens’ fourth LP on Island/A&M, ‘Catch Bull At Four,’ spent three weeks at #1 on the Billboard 200, making it his biggest album of all time.

To celebrate its 50th anniversary, Island Records / UMe will reissue a newly remastered version of ‘Catch Bull At Four’ on November 4th 2022. Presented on CD featuring a new 20 page booklet featuring lyrics and photos.


  1. Sitting
  2. Boy with a Moon & Star on His Head
  3. Angelsea
  4. Silent Sunlight
  5. Can't Keep It In
  6. 18th Avenue (Kansas City Nightmare)
  7. Freezing Steel
  8. O Caritas
  9. Sweet Scarlet
  10. Ruins